Friday , September 20 2019
Home / Healthy Diet Plans / What can I eat on Gluten-free diet?
gluten
gluten

What can I eat on Gluten-free diet?

It is quite difficult to cut out gluten from your diet, but there is no need to worry because there are lots of healthy foods for you that are free from gluten. Healthy and cheap gluten-free food items are fruits, vegetables, meat, poultry, seafood, dairy, beans, buts and legumes.

Can you eat grains on gluten-free diet?

There are lots of grains that naturally have gluten, but there are various gluten-free grains that are available to enhance the taste of your meal. You can buy these grains from a local grocery store, such as:

RiceMillet
CassavaBuckwheat Groats (Also Known As Kasha)
Corn (Maize)                                                 Arrowroot
SoyAmaranth
PotatoTeff
TapiocaFlax
BeansChia
SorghumYucca
QuinoaGluten-Free Oats
Nut Flours

Gluten Free Substitutes

There are lots of gluten-free alternatives that are easily available in the most of the grocery stores. Your diet should contain fresh fruits, meats and vegetables. It is important to skip traditional wheat products like breads, crackers and other baked goods.

Cereals

Cereals

There are various cereals available in the market containing gluten, but you can find gluten-free cereals too. You need to check the ingredients on the pack before buying any cereal. The cereals with corn flakes and puffed rice may have gluten, so be careful while purchasing cereals.

Oats

Oats

The oats are processed with the same equipment used for wheat; therefore, these may contain oats. If you are suffering from celiac disease, then you should make sure to purchase pure oats and consume ½ cup dry oats on a regular basis.

Soup and Sauces

Medicines

The soup and sauces may contain hidden gluten because lots of companies use wheat to increase the thickness of soups and sauces. You should read the label while purchasing canned soups and sauces. It will be good to prepare them at home for your convenience.

Produce

Produce

The fresh and frozen fruits are a cheap and natural source of gluten-free diet. It is important to carefully read the labels on the smoothies and dried fruit cans. The frozen potatoes may also contain gluten, so read the labels before buying them.

Beverages

Beverages

The juices, sodas and sports drinks are free from gluten, but you should be careful about alcoholic beverages. The wines, ciders and liquors should also be free from gluten. The beer, malt, ales and vinegar beverages are made from gluten, and these are not good for you.

Medicines

Medicines

The medicines and vitamins are considered gluten-free, but actually these are not. You should buy the medicine after reading its label. It will be good to talk to your doctor for expert advice.